Board of County Commissioners

Stephen A. Wantz, President Edward C. Rothstein, Vice President C. Richard Weaver, 2nd Vice President C. Eric Bouchat Dennis E. Frazier



Carroll County Government

225 North Center Street Westminster, Maryland 21157 410-386-2043; 1-888-302-8978 fax 410-386-2485 MD Relay 711/800-735-2258

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Chris Winebrenner 410-386-2043

Board Approves FY20 Annual Transportation Plan

Westminster, MD, Thursday, March 14, 2019 –Today, during Open Session, the Board of Carroll County Commissioners voted to approve the submission of the FY20 Annual Transportation Plan and accept the FY20 grant award.

County Public Works Director Jeff Castonguay and Transportation Grants Coordinator Stacey Nash presented the background and planned budget information to continue existing services and recommended a proposed service expansion for an additional Westminster route in FY20. Based on ridership data, an additional TrailBlazer route in Westminster would add stops and shorten both ride and wait times. The new route will only be implemented if additional operating and capital funding is awarded by the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) and the Maryland Transit Administration (MTA).

The projected budget includes seven replacement vehicles and one expansion vehicle for the new route. Public transportation in the county is funded with a mix of grant funding from the FTA, MTA, fare revenue collected by the vendor and county funding.

The plan will now be submitted to MTA for approval.

Today's Open Session is available for viewing on the <u>county meeting portal</u> and the county <u>YouTube channel</u>. In addition, all meetings will be replayed on Comcast Channel 24.

View transit routes at http://www.carrolltransitsystem.com/routes-schedules.asp.

###